Book Review: The Liar’s Guide to the Night Sky


Brianna R. Shrum

Rating: 5 out of 5.

published: 3rd November 2020
spoilers? no

Goodreads

It’s no one’s fault that Hallie Jacob is alone. That her grandpa got sick half a world away and so her parents yanked her to Colorado the last semester of her senior year. That career-wise, she’s specialized in fighting fire, and now she’s surrounded by ice, snow, and a thousand cousins she’s half-banned from hanging around with. But that’s what’s happened. That’s what her December looks like.

On one big family weekend in the freaking tundra, Hallie sneaks off with those cousins to an abandoned ski slope. But they get caught in a random mudslide, and what started as a Secret Bonfire Party goes in a Potential Donner Party direction real fast. With some cousins in desperate need of medical attention, Hallie leaves their camp for help—and is surprised when Jonah Ramirez (her cousin’s extremely off-limits—absurdly hot—best friend) joins her.

Facing paralyzing temperatures, sharp-toothed animals strong enough to survive a climate with hardly any water or air, and weather phenomena so wicked they’ll wreck a mountain before you can blink, Jonah and Hallie have no choice but to trust each other as they search for the way to town to send help back to their stranded friends and family. And THAT may be more impossible, even, than making it out alive.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Liar’s Guide to the Night Sky”

Book Review: The Stone Knife


Anna Stephens

Rating: 2.5 out of 5.

published: 26th November 2020
spoilers? nope

Goodreads

A fantasy epic of freedom and empire, gods and monsters, love, loyalty, honour, and betrayal, from the acclaimed author of GODBLIND.

For generations, the forests of Ixachipan have echoed with the clash of weapons, as nation after nation has fallen to the Empire of Songs – and to the unending, magical music that binds its people together. Now, only two free tribes remain.

The Empire is not their only enemy. Monstrous, scaled predators lurk in rivers and streams, with a deadly music of their own.

As battle looms, fighters on both sides must decide how far they will go for their beliefs and for the ones they love – a veteran general seeks peace through war, a warrior and a shaman set out to understand their enemies, and an ambitious noble tries to bend ancient magic to her will.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Stone Knife”

Book Review: Hollow Empire


Sam Hawke

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

published: 26th November 2020
spoilers? no

Goodreads

It started with poison and rebellion. It continues with war and witchcraft.

The deadly siege of Silasta woke the ancient spirits, and the city-state must find its place in this new world of magic.

But people and politics are always treacherous, and it will take all of Jovan and Kalina’s skills to save the city-state when witches and assassins set their sights to domination.

Poison was only the beginning . . .

Continue reading “Book Review: Hollow Empire”

Book Review: The Winter Duke


Claire Eliza Bartlett

Rating: 2.5 out of 5.

published: 13th October 2020
spoilers? no

Goodreads.

An enchanted tale of intrigue where a duke’s daughter is the only survivor of a magical curse.

When Ekata’s brother is finally named heir, there will be nothing to keep her at home in Kylma Above with her murderous family. Not her books or science experiments, not her family’s icy castle atop a frozen lake, not even the tantalizingly close Kylma Below, a mesmerizing underwater kingdom that provides her family with magic. But just as escape is within reach, her parents and twelve siblings fall under a strange sleeping sickness.

In the space of a single night, Ekata inherits the title of duke, her brother’s warrior bride, and ever-encroaching challengers from without—and within—her own ministry. Nothing has prepared Ekata for diplomacy, for war, for love…or for a crown she has never wanted. If Kylma Above is to survive, Ekata must seize her family’s power. And if Ekata is to survive, she must quickly decide how she will wield it.

Part Sleeping Beauty, part Anastasia, with a thrilling political mystery, The Winter Duke is a spellbinding story about choosing what’s right in the face of danger.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Winter Duke”

Book Review: Afterlove


Tanya Byrne

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

published: 10th June 2021
spoilers? nope

Goodreads

Ash Persaud is about to become a reaper in the afterlife, but she is determined to see her first love Poppy Morgan again, the only thing that separates them is death.

Car headlights.

The last thing Ash hears is the snap of breaking glass as the windscreen hits her and breaks into a million pieces like stars.

But she made it, she’s still here. Or is she?

This New Year’s Eve, Ash is gets an RSVP from the afterlife she can’t decline: to join a clan of fierce girl reapers who take the souls of the city’s dead to await their fate.

But Ash can’t forget her first love, Poppy, and she will do anything to see her again… even if it means they only get a few more days together. Dead or alive…

NOT EVEN DEATH CAN TEAR THEM APART.

Continue reading “Book Review: Afterlove”

Anticipated Releases: Sapphic (October to December)

I’m back today with an anticipated releases post (not exactly a common occurrence on this blog, I know). And, in true fashion, it’s just another sapphic anticipated releases post.

These are, of course, only releases I am anticipating. If you want to know about all the sapphic releases of 2020 (that I know about), check out these posts on Reads Rainbow: Jan to Jun and Jul to Dec. If you want to know what I was anticipating earlier this year, here are Apr to Jun and Jul to Sept.

P.S. Again, I’m not including read ARCs on here, so a quick shout out to I Hope You’re Listening, Ring Shout, Laurel Everywhere, The Lady Upstairs and The Liar’s Guide to the Night Sky.

Continue reading “Anticipated Releases: Sapphic (October to December)”

Best of: September 2020

In September, I took part in #SapphicSeptember, and I am excited to say I actually succeeded in reading all the books on my TBR (summary perhaps to come, but don’t hold me to it)! So that was fun. I also read uh…nearly 50 other books as well, so yeah.

Busy month. Of a sort.

Of those 63 books I read, I would probably only rec about 15 of them (those 15 you see here), which is meh, but sums up my reading month really. A fair few meh books, dotted with some great ones. At least there was nothing much truly terrible…

Total books: 63

Novels: 45
Nonfiction: 3
Graphic novels: 3
Classics: 1
Novellas: 7
Plays: 1
Poetry: 2
Short story collections: 1

Continue reading “Best of: September 2020”

Book Review: Laurel Everywhere


Erin Moynihan

Rating: 2.5 out of 5.

published: 10th November 2020
spoilers? not ones that aren’t also in blurb

Goodreads

Severe loss. For Laurel Summers, those two words don’t cut it. They don’t even come close. After a car wreck kills her mother and siblings, the ghosts of her family surround her as she wrestles with grief, anger, and the fear that she won’t be enough to keep her dad alive either.

Fifteen-year-old Laurel Summers couldn’t tell you the last words she spoke to her mother and siblings if her life depended on it. But she will never forget the image of her mother’s mangled green car on the freeway, shattering the boring world Laurel had been so desperate to escape. Now she can’t stop seeing the ghosts of her family members, which haunt her with memories of how life used to be back when her biggest problem was the kiss she shared with her best friend Hanna.

After the accident, Laurel and her dad are left to pick up the pieces of their shattered lives. Her dad is struggling with his grief and depression, unable to cope with the loss of his family. He seeks a way out of his pain, leaving Laurel behind while he struggles to cope with his own mental illness. She is desperate to find a way to hold everything together again and help her father come to terms with the loss so he can come back to her.

Laurel tries to make sense of her pain with the help of her grandparents, her two best friends, and some random strangers. As she struggles to understand who she is without her family, she must come to terms with the items on her List of Things Not to Talk About, learn to trust her dad again, and—on top of it all—keep her heart open to love in the wake of her immense loss, eventually learning that it’s okay to not be okay.

Continue reading “Book Review: Laurel Everywhere”

Book Review: Body Language


A. K. Turner

Rating: 2 out of 5.

published: 26th November 2020
spoilers? no

Goodreads

THE DEAD CAN TALK – WE JUST NEED TO LISTEN . . .

Camden mortuary assistant Cassie Raven has pretty much seen it all. But this is the first time she’s come face to face with someone she knows on the slab. Someone she cared about. Her friend and mentor, Mrs E.

Deeply intuitive and convinced that she can pick up the last thoughts of the dead, Cassie senses that there must be more to the ruling of an accidental death. Is her grief making her see things that aren’t there, or is her intuition right, and there’s something more sinister to her friend’s death than the ME thinks? Harbouring an innate distrust of the police, Cassie sets out to investigate and deliver justice to the woman who saved her life.

For fans of Elly Griffiths’ Ruth Galloway series and Kathy Reichs’ Temperance Brennan, Cassie Raven is the edgy new forensic sleuth on the block.

Continue reading “Book Review: Body Language”

Book Review: I Hope You’re Listening


Tom Ryan

Rating: 4 out of 5.

published: 6th October 2020
spoilers? no

Goodreads

In her small town, seventeen year-old Delia “Dee” Skinner is known as the girl who wasn’t taken. Ten years ago, she witnessed the abduction of her best friend, Sibby. And though she told the police everything she remembered, it wasn’t enough. Sibby was never seen again.At night, Dee deals with her guilt by becoming someone else: the Seeker, the voice behind the popular true crime podcast Radio Silent, which features missing persons cases and works with online sleuths to solve them. Nobody knows Dee’s the Seeker, and she plans to keep it that way.When another little girl goes missing, and the case is linked to Sibby’s disappearance, Dee has a chance to get answers, with the help of her virtual detectives and the intriguing new girl at school. But how much is she willing to reveal about herself in order to uncover the truth? Dee’s about to find out what’s really at stake in unraveling the mystery of the little girls who vanished.

Continue reading “Book Review: I Hope You’re Listening”