Book Review: The Girls I’ve Been


Tess Sharpe

Rating: 4 out of 5.

published: 4th February 2021
spoilers? no

Goodreads

Nora O’Malley is a lot of things. A sister. An ex. A secret girlfriend. Kind of crooked, but reformed… somewhat.

Nora O’Malley’s been a lot of girls. As the daughter of a con-artist who targets criminal men, she grew up her mother’s protege. But when mom fell for the mark instead of conning him, Nora pulled the ultimate con: escape.

For five years she’s been playing at normal. But she needs to dust off the skills she ditched because she has three problems:

#1: Her ex walked in on her with her girlfriend. Even though they’ve all been inseparable for months, Wes didn’t know about her and Iris.

#2: The morning after, they all have to meet to deposit the fundraiser money they raised together. It’s a nightmare that goes from awkward to deadly.

Because #3: right after they get in the bank, two guys start robbing it.

But they have no idea who they’re really holding hostage.

The robbers are trouble. Nora’s something else entirely.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Girls I’ve Been”

Anticipated Releases: Sapphic (January to March)

Despite WordPress’s best efforts, I’m here today with my list of anticipated sapphic releases for the first three months of the year. And because it’s a little late one or two have actually already released… but oh well!

These are, of course, only releases I am anticipating. If you want to know about all the sapphic releases of 2021 (that I know about), there’ll be a post going up on Reads Rainbow sometime this month!

P.S. As ever, I’m not including read ARCs on here, so a quick shout out to The Split, Night Tide, The Unbroken, The Girls I’ve Been, Fireheart Tiger, The Councillor, Down Comes the Night, A Desolation Called Peace,

Continue reading “Anticipated Releases: Sapphic (January to March)”

Book Review: The Seep


Chana Porter

Rating: 3 out of 5.

published: 19th January 2021
spoilers? nope

Goodreads

A blend of searing social commentary and speculative fiction, Chana Porter’s fresh, pointed debut is perfect for fans of Jeff VanderMeer and Carmen Maria Machado.

Trina Goldberg-Oneka is a trans woman whose life is irreversibly altered in the wake of a gentle—but nonetheless world-changing—invasion by an alien entity calling itself The Seep. Through The Seep, everything is connected. Capitalism falls, hierarchies and barriers are broken down; if something can be imagined, it is possible.

Trina and her wife, Deeba, live blissfully under The Seep’s utopian influence—until Deeba begins to imagine what it might be like to be reborn as a baby, which will give her the chance at an even better life. Using Seep-tech to make this dream a reality, Deeba moves on to a new existence, leaving Trina devastated.

Heartbroken and deep into an alcoholic binge, Trina chases after a young boy she encounters, embarking on an unexpected quest. In her attempt to save him from The Seep, she will confront not only one of its most avid devotees, but the terrifying void that Deeba has left behind.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Seep”

Wrap-up: December 2020

It’s a new year so I figured, why not shake things up a bit with my wrap-up style. So here we are! Instead of just having my favourite books on here, you get everything I read (a mistake on my part because I read a lot last month), everything I watched, and the music I listened to. Hopefully, this is a bit of a nicer post for you to read then.

A little key:
🐝 = favourite
🕊️ = reread/rewatch/relisten
☀️ = 4 or 5 stars, highly recommend
☁️ = 3 or 4 stars, enjoyed/had fun reading
🌧️ = 2 or 3 stars, was alright/not for me but someone else might enjoy
🌩️ = 1 or 2 stars, bored out of my mind/it was awful

Continue reading “Wrap-up: December 2020”

On the TBR: 50 Books I Want to Read in 2021

My TBR shelf at the moment is 622 books long and, so far, the only way it’s seeming to go down is when I delete a bunch of books off it that I’m never going to get to. So. In an attempt to do something about that, I’ve taken 50 books that are on my TBR (with the help of a random number generator and Twitter) that I plan to get read in 2021.

This may be overly optimistic, but we shall see.

Continue reading “On the TBR: 50 Books I Want to Read in 2021”

Book Review: Burn Our Bodies Down


Rory Power

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

published: 7th January 2021
spoilers? nope

Goodreads

Ever since Margot was born, it’s been just her and her mother. No answers to Margot’s questions. No history to hold on to. Just the two of them, stuck in their run-down apartment, struggling to get along.

But that’s not enough for Margot. She wants family. She wants a past. And when she finds a photograph pointing her to a town called Phalene, she leaves. But when Margot gets there, it’s not what she bargained for.

Margot’s mother left for a reason. But was it to hide her past? Or was it to protect Margot from what’s still there?

Continue reading “Book Review: Burn Our Bodies Down”

Book Review: The Split


Laura Kay

Rating: 4 out of 5.

published: 18th March 2021
spoilers? vaguely

Goodreads

Wounded and betrayed, after being dumped by her girlfriend, Ally makes off to her dad’s in Sheffield with the one thing that might soothe the pain and force her ex to speak to her again: Emily’s cat, Malcolm.

Back home and forced into a ‘date’ by their parents, Ally and her first ever beard, Jeremy, come up with a ridiculous plan to win their exes back… to revenge-run a half marathon. Given neither of them can run, they enlist the support of athletic, not to mention beautiful, Jo. But will she have them running for the hills… or will their ridiculous plan pay off…?

Continue reading “Book Review: The Split”

Book Review: Plain Bad Heroines


Emily M. Danforth

Rating: 1 out of 5.

published: 4th February 2021
spoilers? nope

Goodreads

1902, Brookhants School for Girls: students Flo and Clara are madly in love with each other, as well as completely obsessed with The Story of Mary MacLane, the scandalous debut memoir by 19 year old MacLane. A few months later they are found dead in the woods, after a horrific wasp attack, the book lying next to their intertwined bodies. Within five years the school is closed. But not before three more people die on the property, each in a troubling way.

Over a hundred years later, Brookhants opens its doors once more, when a crew of young actresses arrive to film a high-profile movie about the rumoured Brookhants curse. And as past and present become grimly entangled, it’s soon impossible to tell quite where the curse leaves off and Hollywood begins…

Continue reading “Book Review: Plain Bad Heroines”

Book Review: The Henna Wars


Adiba Jaigirdar

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

published: 7th January 2021
spoilers? nope

Goodreads

When Dimple Met Rishi meets Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda in this rom com about two teen girls with rival henna businesses.

When Nishat comes out to her parents, they say she can be anyone she wants—as long as she isn’t herself. Because Muslim girls aren’t lesbians. Nishat doesn’t want to hide who she is, but she also doesn’t want to lose her relationship with her family. And her life only gets harder once a childhood friend walks back into her life.

Flávia is beautiful and charismatic and Nishat falls for her instantly. But when a school competition invites students to create their own businesses, both Flávia and Nishat choose to do henna, even though Flávia is appropriating Nishat’s culture. Amidst sabotage and school stress, their lives get more tangled—but Nishat can’t quite get rid of her crush on Flávia, and realizes there might be more to her than she realised.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Henna Wars”

Best of: November 2020

It’s finally December (which feels like it shouldn’t exist this year? I don’t know), so it’s time for a wrap up post. This is probably the last of the ones I’ll do in this style because it’s getting a little boring, to be perfectly honest. Plus I figure it’s better if you actually get a bit more than a list of books…

But, anyway. This month I once again had no concept of time and couldn’t even remember I read half of these in November. It’s starting to become a theme.

Total books: 56

Novels: 38
Nonfiction: 4
Novellas: 5
Graphic novels: 5
Poetry: 1
Classics: 2
Short story collections: 1

Continue reading “Best of: November 2020”